Spirit of the Beehive - Hypnic Jerks TE179


Hypnic Jerks, the Philly quintet’s third full-length and second for Tiny Engines, sounds like, as frontman Zack Schwartz puts it, “the state between wakefulness and sleep.” It’s named after the involuntary muscle spasms that can happen right as someone begins dozing off, a perfect feeling to compare the album’s drowsy yet restless character to. Unlike the spiraling momentum of pleasure suck, The Spirit of the Beehive took a more grounded approach with Hypnic Jerks, though the ground they’re standing on is equally otherworldly. Dreamy is a fitting adjective, but the songs never fully slip into the peaceful yet backgrounded character of dream-pop.

Rather than an ongoing fantasy, the record has the quality of an indescribable dream fading from memory as you slowly begin to regain consciousness. Its warped guitar tones, transcendental synths, and smattering of eerie audio samples—most come from bassist Rivka Ravede’s old family recordings, which Schwartz sifted through and edited together—conjure this purgatorial space between reverie and reality. An arena where their songs unexpectedly contort themselves and take on different textures, morphing in and out of one another. These tracks were initially designed to comprise a “short mixtape,” which explains the record’s nebulous structure. If you’re not paying close attention to the tracklist, they could easily be mistaken for one, long song.

However, it’s the celestial harmonies, balmy keys and creeping false climax of album closer “it’s gonna find you” that secures The Spirit of the Beehive a seat at this decade’s table of musical visionaries. The track ends with a similarly whirring sample to the one the record began with, finally rocking you off to sleep after ten songs, but leaving you with the undying curiosity to play back what you think you just heard. Jerking your mind awake yet again. (Bio by Eli Enis)

Track Listing

  1. nail i couldn't bite
  2. mantra is repeated
  3. fell asleep with a vision
  4. can i receive the contact
  5. poly swim
  6. d.o.u.b.l.e.u.r.o.n.g.
  7. (without you) in my pocket
  8. hypnic jerks
  9. monumental shame
  10. it's gonna find you

Pressing Information

First Pressing (Vinyl):
250 Americana (mailorder exclusive)
350 Opaque Pink & Lavender Split
400 Butter Cream

Second Pressing (Vinyl):
250 Translucent Orange w/ Opaque Pink Smoke
350 Translucent Blue & Sea Glass Split
400 White

First Pressing (Cassettes):
75 Light Pink (band exclusive)
125 Light Blue
150 Bronze Metallic

More in 2018 Releases View All