The Hotelier - Home, Like Noplace Is There TE127

This item is unavailable.

The most political music is often the most explicit, battering its audience with its beliefs. But that isn't always the case; sometimes it embeds its ideas in subtler, more successful ways.

Take The Hotelier (previously The Hotel Year), whose second full-length Home, Like Noplace Is There is comprised of what can only be described as anthemic, cathartic rock songs, sent occasionally to delicate and destructive extremes. Singer Christian Holden pushes his clean voice until it crumbles, on "The Scope of All of This Rebuilding" against a strutting pace, and on the furious "Life in Drag", but most powerfully during the chorus of "Your Deep Rest" where his words are heart-wrenching and haunting. As drummer Sam Frederick stamps out an enormous beat and chords—strummed by Cody Millet, Scott Ayotte, and Chris Hoffman—clamor around him, Holden sings, "I called in sick from your funeral / tradition of closure made it feel impossible… / I should have never kept my word to you / Not a cry not a sound / Might've learned how to swim but never taught how to drown /You said remember me for me, I need to set my spirit free."

A careful listen to Holden's lyrics reveals that each song on Home, Like Noplace Is There makes a political statement, albeit by showing rather than telling. They may be most visible on "Housebroken" on which Holden addresses an abused dog; after inviting it to be free, he sings as the canine above a jangling guitar, saying, "Master's all that I got, keeps me having a purpose, / Gives me bed keeps me fed, and I'm just slightly nervous / Of what I might do if I were let loose / If I caught that mail car or ate garbage for food, / So as I bear all my teeth, I will ask of you please / to just leave." As this swaying song rises dramatically from this revelation, that some individuals prefer their restraints, it becomes clear that there's more to the record than its powerful melodies.

By making political statements through personal explorations, The Hotelier has not only make a uniquely political record, but also a subtler, more successful one. - Dane Erbach

Track Listing

  1. An Introduction To The Album
  2. The Scope Of All Of This Rebuilding
  3. In Framing
  4. Your Deep Rest
  5. Among The Wildflowers
  6. Life In Drag
  7. Housebroken
  8. Discomfort Revisited
  9. Dendron

Pressing Information

First Pressing:
125 Pink w/ White Starburst
175 Clear w/ Black Smoke
200 Opaque Lavender
250 Transparent Gold

Second Pressing:
150 White w/ Orange & Yellow Starburst
300 Opaque Deep Teal
350 Opaque Maroon
400 Opaque Cream
800 Black

Third Pressing:
250 Red w/ White and Yellow Starburst
250 Blue w/ Black and White Starburst
350 Translucent Red w/ Black Smoke
500 Opaque Forest Green
650 Clear

Fourth Pressing:
1000 Opaque Orange
2000 White

Fifth Pressing:
300 Translucent Pink + Opaque White Split (mailorder exclusive)
300 Translucent Gold + Opaque Lavender Split (mailorder exclusive)
400 Coke Bottle Clear
1000 Black

Sixth Pressing:
200 Metallic Gold / Metallic Silver Split
300 Opaque Yellow + Turquoise Blue Mix
500 White w/ Lavender Swirls

Seventh Pressing:
400 Opaque Blue & White Split
600 Translucent Yellow

More in 2014 Releases View All